EU divided as four states ORDERED to remove border controls


An official in Sofia has urged four European Union states to drop temporary border controls and reinstall full freedom of movement across the Schengen Area.

The restrictions were put in place by Germany, Austria, Denmark and Sweden to deal with the ongoing migrant crisis.

Norway, a non-EU member state but a Schengen participant, was also put under the spotlight by Bulgaria’s foreign minister and vice prime minister Ekaterina Zakharieva.

She said the five countries should lift restrictions intended to help cope with the migrant crisis in May.

Read more at Express